Our Qualifications


Our qualifications are designed to develop and sharpen the professional skills of advocates who work in many different roles in the field of domestic abuse. Practitioners completing the qualifications are expected to develop a range of skills (in addition to working with high risk) that match the needs of survivors in a holistic way.

We offer three levels of fully accredited qualifications in Tackling and Preventing Domestic and Sexual Violence/Abuse:

Which qualification is right for me?

The Award in Tackling and Preventing Domestic Abuse has been developed for those with little or no experience of working with survivors; volunteers; or those wanting to enter the sector.

This qualification will give you an introduction to the domestic abuse sector and will enable you to provide a safe response to survivors.

To undertake the Certificate in Tackling and Preventing Domestic Abuse, you are required to be in a paid role with at least 6 months’ experience working with survivors in the domestic and sexual abuse/violence sector.

The course is particularly suitable if you have worked in the sector for some years and now wish to have your knowledge and expertise recognised by a formal qualification.

It is also appropriate for those who have completed the Award in Tackling and Preventing Domestic Abuse and wish to progress further.

The Certificate also qualifies you to enrol for the Diploma in Tackling Domestic Abuse – the highest level of qualification delivered in the sector.

The Certificate course is adaptable and accommodates for differences in service provision roles. Completing the Certificate qualifies you to add a professional title to your role and register as a qualified professional, eg. IDVA, outreach or DAPA.

Students who have successfully achieved the Certificate in Tackling and Preventing Domestic Abuse qualify to apply for the Diploma in Tackling and Preventing Domestic Abuse.

The Diploma is particularly suitable for those wishing to go on to achieve a higher qualification and/or specialise in a given area.

The course covers mental health, equality and diversity and feminist principles in relation to domestic abuse.

What do the qualifications cover?

The training adheres to feminist principles established over the course of 40 years of direct work with survivors of domestic abuse in refuge and other Women’s Aid services. They articulate the Women’s Aid model of a needs-led approach, working at all levels of risk with the explicit purpose of producing change that lasts for survivors and their children.

For this reason, the qualifications cover areas such as:

• Violence against women and girls in a global and historical context
• Children and young people and domestic abuse
• Specialist services and responses to domestic abuse survivors
• Understanding the short- and long-term impacts of domestic abuse on survivors and their children

The courses also incorporate new developments in the field, such as the criminalisation of coercive control.

Information for employers

Training is an investment in your staff’s professional development and growth, however the National Training Centre recognises that training and qualifications have cost implications for services.

Did you know that we can come to you?

If you have a minimum of six members of staff, can release them for the 10 required training days for the Certificate, and are interested in cutting the additional costs of travel, hotels and subsistence, please contact our National Training Centre to find out more.

© 2022 Women's Aid Federation of England – Women’s Aid is a company limited by guarantee registered in England No: 3171880.

Women’s Aid is a registered charity in England No. 1054154

Terms & conditionsPrivacy & cookie policyProtect yourself onlineMedia │ Jobs │ Accessibility Guide

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?